Deborah Rusy honored with 2023 GWIMS Impact Award

2023 GWIMS Award Recipients

Deborah Rusy, MD, MBA, was honored with a 2023 Impact Award from the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health Group on Women and Medicine in Science. The Impact Award recognizes sustained and effective mentorship in advancing the careers of women in medicine and science.

The UW SMPH Group on Women in Medicine and Science (GWIMS), established in 2021, is a chapter of the Association of American Medical Colleges GWIMS organization. The group’s mission is to advance “the full and successful participation and inclusion of women within academic medicine and science” through education, advocacy, mentoring, and networking.

The Impact Award was presented to Dr. Rusy at the 2023 Women in Medicine & Science Symposium, held November 28 at the Health Sciences Learning Center. The annual symposium featured a keynote speaker, panel discussion, and awards presentation and served to explore opportunities, obstacles, and strategies for success for women in medicine and science.

Dr. Rusy has made many contributions to anesthesiology and medicine at the University of Wisconsin and beyond, serving as a Board Examiner for the American Board of Anesthesiologists, a State Delegate to the American Society of Anesthesiologists, with representation on pediatric and neuroanesthesiology committees, and as the inaugural Director of Global Health in the Department of Anesthesiology.

“Dr. Rusy is an unrelenting supporter of and mentor for women in medicine, and a role model for residents, fellows, and early-career faculty.  Her impact in the department, the state, nation and globally is palpable and greatly appreciated.” — Dr. Kelly McQueen

The Impact Award reflects the many contributions to anesthesiology made by Dr. Rusy locally, nationally, and internationally. Her commitment to and passion for global health has and continues to support education and training, quality initiatives, and clinical service in low and middle-income countries.

Membership in the UW Group on Women in Medicine and Science is open to faculty of all genders.