Resident presentations receive accolades at MARC 2024

Anesthesiology Residents and mentors at MARC
Anesthesiology residents and mentors at MARC 2024.

The University of Wisconsin Department of Anesthesiology showcased 6 resident presenters and 5 faculty judges at the Midwest Anesthesia Resident Conference (MARC). The conference took place April 5th–7th in Omaha, Nebraska.

Attendees in a historic passenger car at the Durham Museum in Omaha, Nebraska.

The MARC meeting is hosted by Association of Midwest Academic Anesthesia Chairs, Inc. (AMAAC). AAMAC departments host MARC annually on a rotating basis, and the AMAAC member-chairs also meet at this meeting. The mission of the MARC meeting is to encourage and support resident research and scholarly activity in their home departments and to allow residents to share their work among their peers in a friendly, educational atmosphere.

This year’s conference attracted residents, fellows, faculty, and medical students from throughout the Midwest and has grown into the largest anesthesia resident’s conference in North America and in the world, with attendance approaching (and sometimes exceeding) 700 individuals each year.

presentation at MARC 2024
Ho-Young Ahn presenting at MARC 2024.

Congratulations to all the resident presenters: Drs. Shubham Mangla, Navoda Mirihagalle, Sylvia Rakke, Ho-Young Ahn, Nathan Hurley, and Lenka Craigova.  Additionally, we also want to recognize 4 UW-Madison SMPH medical students who presented at MARC; Amelia Baltes, Akasha Polou-Torres, Sophia Romero, and Ryan Thill.

presentation at MARC.
Lenka Craigova presenting at MARC 2024.

A special thank you to our volunteer faculty judges, including Drs. Kenneth Van Dyke, Patrick Meyer, Whitney Fallahian, Kristopher Schroeder, and Joel Johnson. We also want to show our appreciation for our faculty mentors and the education team for their efforts to support this important regional event.

Awards Ceremony

After a full day of presentations and sessions on Saturday, the awards ceremony took place on Sunday morning. We are proud to share that our department entries collectively earned six awards, placing either first, second, or third place in the following categories: regional, pain, cardiovascular, neuroscience, critical care, quality, and airway.

Award Winners and Mentors

Abstract Category Presenter Faculty Mentor Award
Stellate ganglion block for treatment of cerebral vasospasm REGN Shubham Mangla Whitney Fallahian and Patrick Meyer 3rd Place
Anesthetic management of extracranial-intracranial bypass and cerebral aneurysm clip reconstruction NEURO Navoda Mirihagalle Whitney Fallahian 1st Place
Airway and hemodynamic management for goiter resection requiring sternotomy AIR Sylvia Rakke Meghan Wallner 2nd Place
A novel technique for treating greater trochanteric pain syndrome
using radiofrequency ablation
PAIN Ho-Young Ahn Alaa Abd-Elsayed 3rd Place
Performance degradations of cloud-based large language models over time QUAL Nathan Hurley Aaron Hess 2nd Place
Anesthetic considerations in critically ill patients on a therapeutic ketogenic diet CRIT Lenka Craigova Laura Hammel 2nd Place